The Maryland Heritage Area Authority (MHAA) oversees 13 regions designated as Certified Heritage Areas. These heritage areas leverage public and private partnerships to stimulate economic development through heritage tourism. The Maryland Heritage Areas Authority supports heritage areas with targeted financial and technical assistance. By investing public dollars, MHAA seeks to spark private investment and motivate local leadership to embrace a sustainable level of heritage tourism.

Each of Maryland’s Certified Heritage Areas is defined by its distinctive characteristics that make it different from other parts of the state. Most of Dorchester County is certified as the Heart of Chesapeake Country Heritage Area. The themes that define us are these:

  • Agricultural Life
  • Arts, Artists & Entertainment
  • Chesapeake Landscapes and and Outdoor Adventures
  • Dorchester Families and Traditions
  • Dorchester History, Architecture & Artifacts
  • The Environment
  • Harriet Tubman and the Eastern Shore African-American History
  • Maritime Villages, Trades, and Life
  • Native American Heritage