Download our latest Economic Impact Report

Maryland's heritage areas are locally designated and State certified regions were public and private partners make commitments to preserving historical, cultural, and natural resources for sustainable economic development through heritage tourism. Learn more about how Heritage areas drive economic support to our state.

Heritage Montgomery

The Heritage Tourism Alliance of Montgomery County (Heritage Montgomery) was established by State legislations in 2003

Lower Susquehanna Heritage Greenway

The Lower Susquehanna Heritage Greenway (LSHG) is a non-profit organization whose mission is to stimulate local

Heart of Chesapeake Country Heritage Area

The Maryland Heritage Area Authority (MHAA) oversees 13 regions designated as Certified Heritage Areas. These heritage areas leverage

Stories of the Chesapeake Heritage Area

Caroline, Kent, Queen Anne’s, and Talbot Counties are a significant part of the nation’s last great

Lower Eastern Shore Heritage Area

The Lower Eastern Shore Heritage Council is a grassroots, nonprofit organization whose purpose is to preserve,

Patapsco Heritage Greenway

The Patapsco Heritage Greenway’s mission is to preserve, protect, interpret and restore the environment, history and

Canal Place Heritage Area

In 1993, the State of Maryland created the Canal Place Preservation & Development Authority to oversee

Baltimore National Heritage Area

Baltimore’s concentration of historic, cultural, and natural resources makes the city a truly unique place. The

Southern Maryland Heritage Area

Shaped by the Chesapeake Bay and its mighty tributaries, the Patuxent and Potomac Rivers, Maryland’s verdant

Heart of the Civil War Heritage Area

The Heart of the Civil War Heritage Area (HCWHA) is an area rich in history, covering

Mountain Maryland Gateway to the West

Maryland’s Heritage Areas are locally designated and State certified regions where public and private partners make

Four Rivers Heritage Area

Annapolis, London Town & South County Heritage Area, Inc. (ALTSCHA, Inc.), known as the Four Rivers

Maryland Milestones/ATHA

The Anacostia Trails Heritage Area is one of 13 Heritage Areas certified by the State of Maryland

©2019 Maryland Heritage Area